My Mumme Poll Ballot – 10.17

After one week, there wasn’t a lot of shake-up in my top 10 for this week’s edition of the Mumme Poll.  I know it’s not likely due to upsets, but it’s possible we could have as many as 6 unbeatens at the end of Championship Saturday on December 3.

Top Team

LSU – The Tigers have not done anything at this point to tell me that they don’t warrant my top ranking.  This defense is stifling, and the offense takes care of business.  I’m still waiting for a game where Jarrett Lee or Jordan Jefferson has to put the team on his shoulders to win.

The Rest of the Top 10 (in no particular order)

Alabama – The Tide manhandled Ole Miss this weekend in Oxford, and November 5 in T-Town is looming large.  I have the same question about A.J. McCarron that I have about the LSU quarterbacks.

Oklahoma – Stoops’ Troops lose the turnover margin to Kansas -3 and still win by 30.  Landry Jones might be the nation’s best quarterback outside of Boise, Idaho.  Will the Sooners be tested before Bedlam at Oklahoma State?

Boise State – The Broncos hang 63 points and almost 750 yards of offense on Colorado St.  Kellen Moore completes 86% of his passes for 338 yards and 4 TD’s.  The only potential road block is TCU on the Smurf Turf, but I don’t see it happening.  Get ready to face the Alabama/LSU loser in New Orleans.

Stanford – The Cardinal bloodied up Washington St. Saturday by 30.  Andrew Luck continues to roll up big numbers passing and has a seat reserved at the Downtown Athletic Club and probably as the #1 overall selection in the 2012 NFL Draft.  The Oregon game in Palo Alto is likely for the Pac-12 title.

Oklahoma State – The Cowboys whip the Longhorns in Austin.  They didn’t overwhelm Texas like the Sooners did last weekend in Dallas.  Right now, Oklahoma looks too talented for the Pokes especially on defense.

Clemson – I considered taking Clemson out of my rankings after their 11-point win at Maryland on Saturday night.  Down by 18 at one time in the 2nd half to a team that’s now 2-4 for the year is not a good omen for this group of Tigers.  With Marcus Lattimore’s injury and the Cocks’ QB situation, it’s likely Clemson runs the table and has a rematch with either Georgia Tech or Virginia Tech in the ACC championship game.

Wisconsin – The Badgers mauled Indiana on Saturday.  Saturday night at East Lansing could be entertaining with Michigan St. although I don’t think anyone in the Big Ten has an answer for Russell Wilson and the Wisconsin offense.

Oregon – In the Ducks’ win on Saturday night against Arizona St., they didn’t appear to miss a beat without LaMichael James by rolling up almost 330 yards rushing and 41 points.  I have concerns about Oregon’s defense and whether they will be able to withstand the pressure Stanford and USC may put on them.

Arkansas – I had trouble with determining my 10th team with Georgia Tech’s glorious loss on Saturday to UVa in Charlottesville.  Everyone else has a fatal flaw that prevents me from ranking them ahead of Arkansas.  Yes, I know that means my top 10 matches the AP’s top 10.  I just don’t think there’s another team out there currently not in my top 10 right now that could match up to Bobby Petrino’s offense.

This entry was posted in Mumme Poll. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Mumme Poll Ballot – 10.17

  1. Jeff says:

    Why would you consider taking Clemson off the poll for an 11 point win when the spead was only 8? They struggled for one half, yes, but keep in mind that 14 of MD’s point difference in first half was due to turnover mistakes in Clemson territory (ie, Clemson hurt themself on 14 points,…they weren’t being outplayed from a punt & full drive for all 28 points). For a team to come from 18 down, outscore a team 39-17 in second half, putting more pts on the board than MD did in that sloppy first half…that’s not a team I’d think should be counted out. It’s just a team, like several that weekend, that had some instability and issues that hasn’t been normal…but still showed they are a contender.

    • eethomaswfnc says:

      Jeff, good question. I’ll admit I didn’t watch the CU-MD game because it was up against the Georgia-Vandy game directly. The fact they came back and won by 11 was the reason I kept them in my poll. Everyone else in my top 10 this week rolled on Saturday (Arkansas was off). Ellington and Boyd are players. I think CU is probably bound for Miami and the Orange Bowl given no craziness happens. I hope I was able to explain my reasoning.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a comment